How to use Loom's privacy settings

Guard your videos with an extra layer of privacy. 🔍

Creators in Loom can configure video privacy settings to ensure they give the appropriate access to the right people. This guide will walk you through: 

Video privacy settings (available on all Loom plans)

Users on all plans can set the following privacy settings for the videos they create: 
52D3676C-DDD1-49EA-99BD-1B89EFDC5670.png

Anyone with the link Company or Workspace Only people added
Videos shared with Anyone with the link can be viewed by anyone who has the link to your video; no login or Loom account is required

Video preview privacy (applicable to all Loom plans)

If your video privacy setting is set to Members of this Workspace or Only people added can access, the video preview will be hidden by default in embedded Looms.

If you want to show the previews when you share the video in Slack, you can do so by going to Workspace Settings > General > Workspace Content and turning on Display preview and titles in Slack embeds for non-public videos (more info here).

mceclip0.png

Important Note

Turning this on will reveal the title and preview of the video to all users you share the video with within Slack, even if they are not members of your Loom workspace or added to the video. Only members of your workspace (or people added) can watch the video.

Private link settings (available on all Loom plans)

If you're the Admin of your workspace, you can specify the definition of private links.

setting.png

Users with your email domains  Workspace Members 
These are any users with an email address within your company's domains.

For customers without verified domains, these domains are based on what's listed in your Workspace Membership settings.
For customers with verified domains, these domains are based on your authorized domains. You can view these by going to your Security settings.

Note: If this setting is enabled any video shared with someone within your domain will need to be signed into a Loom account in order to view. 

 

Important Note

If you change your settings from Users with your email domains to Workspace Members, links previously shared with "People in your company" settings will become inaccessible to people from your domains who are not in your workspace.

Advanced privacy features (Enterprise plans)

Loom's advanced privacy features are only available to users on the Enterprise plan.

If you're the Admin of your Enterprise Workspace, you can have Privacy restrictions or set Default privacy settings for everyone in your Workspace to ensure your content is kept secure in your organization by going to Workspace settings > General > Workspace Content. 

Privacy restrictions

You can use privacy restrictions to control who can create content with public links in your workspace:

 mceclip1.png

Everyone can create public links

Any Creator in your workspace can set the privacy for their videos to anyone with the link, which can be viewed by anyone who has the link to your video, no login or Loom account is required.

💡 If you want to give all of your end users the flexibility to share externally while minimizing the accidental creation of public links, we recommend keeping this setting and changing the default privacy setting instead. 

Only exempted groups can create public links

Unless they are in an exempted group, Creators cannot set their videos to Anyone with the link. They are restricted to Members of this Workspace, or Only people added can access.  

All Creators, including exempted groups, will have Members of this Workspace as the default privacy setting when they create videos. 

What happens to the video links of users who have been removed from an exempted group?

When a user is removed from an exempted group, public links will remain public until changed by the user. Once the user changes the video back to workspace only, they will not have the option to make it public again. 

 

Default Privacy Settings

If you choose to give everyone the option to create public links, you can still set the default privacy setting for new videos in the workspace. All Workspace members have the option to override the default in individual videos and choose each video's privacy settings.

👉 Note: These settings only apply to new videos, so the privacy settings of any existing videos will not be impacted.

mceclip0.png

How to edit exempted groups

If you set your Privacy Restrictions to Only exempted groups can create public links, you can choose to exempt user groups from that restriction. Only Creators who are in an "exempted group" will be able to create content with public links. If you do not add any exempted groups, then no one in your workspace will be able to create public links. 

Here's how to edit exempted groups: 

      1. Select Only exempted groups can create public links and click on Edit exempted groups.

        restict_setting.png

      2. You can search for existing Groups and click Save.

        D9C59835-AD30-4CDA-9AB4-ECC096614FEF_4_5005_c.jpeg

      3. You can also directly create a new Group using the New Group button.

      4. Your list of exempted groups will show up as a list in the modal.

        D9C59835-AD30-4CDA-9AB4-ECC096614FEF_4_5005_c.jpeg

      5. You can also view the privacy restriction setting for each group by going to the Groups tab and clicking a particular group. The privacy restriction for that groups is shown in the side panel.

        groups_sidepanel.png

Important Notes

  • If a user is part of several groups, the user will inherit the least restrictive permission. This means if any one of the groups they belong to is allowed to create Looms with public links, the user will also be able to create Looms with public links. 

  • These settings only apply to new videos, so the privacy settings of any existing videos will not be impacted. If end users have existing videos set to Anyone with the link, the existing videos' privacy settings are maintained even after the end users are restricted from creating public links. If restricted end users choose to change the privacy of such existing videos, they will not be able to change it back to public. 

  • For better insight into content in their workspace and their respective privacy settings, Enterprise plan Admins can pull a report through Engagement Insights data exports

  • Enterprise customers using SCIM can push groups from their Identify Provider to manage group membership. Please see our help article on setting up Directory sync for more info. 

 

 

Questions, comments, concerns? Contact us here.   

Happy recording! 🎥 😄

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful