How to use Loom's privacy settings

Guard your videos with an extra layer of privacy. 🔍

Creators in Loom are able to configure video privacy settings to ensure they give the appropriate access to the right people. Admins of Enterprise plans can restrict or set defaults for their entire workspace through Advanced privacy features

Video privacy settings

Users on all plans are able to set the following privacy settings for the videos they create: 

Anyone with the link
  • Videos shared with Anyone with the link can be viewed by anyone who has the link to your video, no login or Loom account required.
  • Available to users on all Loom plans.
Members of this Workspace
  • A video set to Members of this Workspace can be viewed by any other members of your Workspace in Loom.
  • This is different from videos in your Team Workspace in that videos that are private to your Workspace can only be viewed by your teammates, not edited. They'll need to log in to view the video. Outside users can request to view the video in case you forgot to make the video available to them. 
Only people added can access
  • A video shared to Only people added can access can only be viewed by anyone whose email you've added when sharing your video. 
  • Available to users on all Loom plans.

 

Video preview privacy

If your video privacy setting is set to Members of this Workspace or Only people added can access, the video preview will be hidden by default in embedded Looms.

If you want to show the previews when you share the video in Slack, you can do so by going to Workspace Settings > General > Workspace Content and turning on Display preview and titles in Slack embeds for non-public videos. Note that turning this on will reveal the title and preview of the video to all users your share the video with in Slack, even if they are not members of your Loom workspace or directly added to the video.

mceclip0.png

⚠️ Note that turning this on will reveal the title and preview of the video to all users you share the video with in Slack, even if they are not members of your Loom workspace or added to the video. Only members of your workspace (or people added) are able to watch the video. 

Advanced privacy features

⚠️ Please note that Loom's advanced privacy features are only available to users on the Enterprise plan.

If you're the Admin of your Enterprise Workspace, you can either restrict or set default settings for everyone in your Workspace to ensure your content is kept secure in our organization by going to Workspace settings > General > Workspace Content. 

Privacy restrictions

You can use privacy restrictions to control who can create content with public links in your workspace:

 mceclip1.png

Everyone can create public links
  • Any Creator in your workspace can set the privacy for their videos to Anyone with the link, which can be viewed by anyone who has the link to your video, no login or Loom account required.
  • If you want to give all of your end users the flexibility to share externally while minimizing accidental creation of public links, we recommend keeping this setting and changing the Default privacy setting instead. 
Only exempted groups can create public links
  • Unless they are in an exempted group, Creators cannot set their videos to Anyone with the link. They are restricted to Members of this Workspace or Only people added can access.  
  • All Creators, including exempted groups, will have Members of this Workspace as the default privacy setting when they create videos. 

Edit exempted groups

If you set your Privacy Restrictions to Only exempted groups can create public links, you can choose to exempt user groups from that restriction. Only Creators who are in an "exempted group" will be able to create content with public links. If you do not add any exempted groups, then no one in your workspace will be able to create public links. 

To edit exempted groups: 

  1. Select Only exempted groups can create public links and click on Edit exempted groups.

    restict_setting.png
  2. You can search for existing Groups and click Save.

    groupperms_search_save.png
  3. You can also directly create a new Group using the New Group button.

    groupperms_createnewgroup.png
  4. Your list of exempted groups will show up as a list in the modal.

    groupperms_saved.png
  5. You can also view the privacy restriction setting for each group by going to the Groups tab and clicking a particular group. The privacy restriction for that groups is shown in the side panel.

    groups_sidepanel.png

⚠️ Important notes: 

  • If a user is part of several groups, the user will inherit the least restrictive permission. This means if any one of the groups they belong to is allowed to create Looms with public links, the user will also be able to create Looms with public links. 
  • These settings only apply to new videos, so the privacy settings of any existing videos will not be impacted. If end users have existing videos set to Anyone with the link, the existing videos' privacy settings are maintained even after the end users are restricted from creating public links. If restricted end users choose to change the privacy of such existing videos, they will not be able to change it back to public. 
  • For better insight into content in their workspace and their respective privacy settings, Enterprise plan Admins can pull a report through Engagement Insights data exports

Default privacy setting

If you choose to give everyone the option to create public links, you can still set the default privacy setting for new videos in the workspace. All Workspace members have the option to override the default in individual videos and choose each video's privacy settings.

👉 Note: These settings only apply to new videos, so the privacy settings of any existing videos will not be impacted.

mceclip0.png

 

Questions, comments, concerns? Contact us here.   

Happy recording! 🎥 😄

2 out of 3 found this helpful